POCKET ECHOS.004 Electronic Press Kit


Electronic Press Kit

This is a private page meant for dj’s and review media, please do not share this page link

Urhosson – Homage (album)

ARTIST : Urhosson
RELEASE DATE : May 6th, 2022
FORMATS : Digital, Album
GENRE : Contemporary classical, electronic

1. During
2. Breathe
3. N.Y.
4. Battlestar
5. Nightmode
6. Homage
7. In Cinema
8. National Anthem For An Anarchistic State
9. Hard Addiction
10. Staticcc
11. The Wait
12. Delirium Beam Hour

Homage is the second album from Urhosson, having released the debut album Metropolis in february 2022. The evocative soundscapes on Homage follow up where the first album left off, circling back and forth from cinematic arrangements to acoustic piano moods, to full 4/4 techno. Aggressive synth lines and chaotic drum artistry paint a dystopian picture at times, reflecting of the times we live in. The album has a strong feeling of freedom of expression, no matter what lies ahead. The voice of Urhosson is formulating with this second album, echoing mature but playful compositions full of character.

The process of composition for Urhosson is a intimate solo effort. Urhosson explains: “I tend to write music best in the dark both literally and metaphorically. Usually there is some kind of recklessness of expression involved and a lot of experimentation. A lot of things have been created in the moment and left as they are, edited only to underline the purpose. I have no classical training of instruments or traditional music theory, but just a childlike mind to explore instruments and sound processors, sometimes enhancing and building some myself. When it comes to the moods and modes in my music, i have always leaned towards the darkness, but with a touch of hope. That is what interests me the most.”

The start of the year has been busy for Urhosson and through the two albums he has given a solid display of unique expression. And even more is expected, sooner than later!

Singles from the album are ‘Nightmode’ (released April 15th) and ‘National Anthem For An Anarchistic State’ (released April 27th).

Urhosson is a Finnish composer and producer based in Helsinki. He creates atmospheres that fuse electronic and classical sounds as well as field recordings and samples from the archives as basis for composing. It is not so much about compositions that evolve on a large scale, but more the moods that evolve in a meaningful way.

During the last decades, having worked and collaborated with diverse selection of artists as a producer, the creative enviroment for Urhosson has been fine tuned to allow music to be created with intuition, without technical boundaries. It is the well built creative enviroment at play which is almost as meaningful as the person making the decisions.

Soundtracks and film scores have always been a great inspiration and here lie the musical objectives for Urhosson, to write the score for a moment in your life. Not music for the background but for the moment of emotion, of change, hopefully for the better. Inspirational echos in the music can be heard from such Icelandic greats as Hildur Guðnadóttir and Jóhann Jóhannsson, as well as Nils Frahm and Jon Hopkins.